The Exercise Diet part 3

Well, I still haven’t lost any weight but I’m not unhappy with that. If you knew how many bags of crisps I’ve been eating then you’d understand! I’m happy because I can now eat when I’m hungry and I can eat lots of nice things, I’m not restricted to vegetables and salad. Never being able to eat something you love just isn’t sustainable and it makes you unhappy. In fact I once remarked, whilst taking a stroll in Paris, how wonderfully slim Parisian women are and my husband noted that they also looked unhappy! Could it be that they were suffering from a repressed desire to eat more? Only joking, but maybe you see my point.

Last week I saw a twitter post by Jeffrey Zeldman about exercising to lose weight: http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/11/12/exercising-but-gaining-weight/?smid=tw-share&_r=0

Exercising but gaining weight

I thought it was interesting that a study showed that exercising does not help you to lose weight, in fact some people gain weight! I think that is true, I mean I haven’t lost any but I confess that I’m not actually trying to lose weight at the moment, I’m happy just to keep my weight from increasing.

In the study, the women took up regular exercise for the first time and began exercising for 30 minutes 3 times a week. The comment was that the lack of weight loss for some was probably down to an unconscious increase in food intake. But I would also say that you need to exercise more than 3 times a week and for longer than 30 minutes, after all you eat every day, right?

So back to my exercise diet…

The good thing about running is that you can discover new places and enjoy some great views so it’s not all misery!  The latest app I’ve been using (Endomondo) is good. I’m using the pro version but I would say that it is overpriced. The free version is good enough.

But wait, now you are going to laugh. I’ve had this idea that I could attempt a triathlon, the shortest one of course! That makes me laugh, I’ve always been so unfit and hated sport so it’s weird to imagine me in a triathlon!

Freedom Tri

I’ve tried out a couple of coaching sessions with Freedom Tri http://www.freedomtri.org.uk I must be the slowest ever but the people are so friendly and encouraging. Went to the swimming session on Friday night thinking that I should be able to hold my own, after all, it’s the one sport I’ve always been good at. Yikes! I was again the slowest there.

I shouldn’t give up so quickly, I’ll keep going at it, maybe I could do a triathlon?

Leave a Reply

