ClickOnce Exception reading manifest

I’ve had ClickOnce blow up on me on more than one occasion and I have to confess that it really does irk me. So much time wasted on what must be a bug in Visual Studio. To be precise VS 2005 (yep I still have projects in version 2.0 of the framework).

So the problem is that after publishing the clickOnce application fails with this error:
Exception reading manifest from<fullPath and name to manifest here>: the manifest may not be valid or the file could not be opened.
+ Deployment manifest is not semantically valid.
+ Deployment manifest cannot specify minimumRequiredVersion for online applications.

I also noticed that the Updates button on the publish tab of my start-up project was disabled – tsk!  So I compared  the csproj file of a working project and found that the line below the PublishUrl had the value of false in it.  So I changed it to true.

<PublishUrl><fullPath and name to manifest here></PublishUrl>
<Install>true</Install>

This fixed the problem.

2 thoughts on “ClickOnce Exception reading manifest

    1. dorothydorothy Post author

      I’m sorry it does not solve your problem but when you find the solution please post the answer in case it helps someone else.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

